Home > Primal, Random Stuff > Whole30 – Day 30

Whole30 – Day 30


I came down with a brutal cold last week that left me very fatigued.  The cold became a great excuse to take a break from blogging, exercising, and even eating right. I did complete the Whole30 challenge and am very glad to have it behind me.

Day 30 (June 14) was a day devoid of all activity, unless that activity was lying around and watching TV. I did manage to finish the challenge eating clean, even though I had cravings for carbs galore and not the good kind of carbs. It’s a good thing the cold hit at the end of the challenge or I wouldn’t have been successful.

On this last day I encountered a strange phenomenon – after having some papaya, my sore throat symptoms abated – apparently, papaya offers sore throat relief. Curious as to whether or not there was some validity to this, I did a quick google search and lo and behold, papain, a papaya enzyme, appears to work magic:

Papain can also work wonders for sports injuries such as bruising and swelling because of its ability to reduce swelling and thin mucous. Papain can be used for reducing the swelling of a sore throat and can help to alleviate sinus pain caused by blocked or swollen sinuses. Many people have reported a rapid reduction in symptoms of sore throats and sinus pain after taking papain enzyme.

via Benefits of Papaya Enzymes

Wow! It seems that food truly is the best medicine.

“Let your food be your medicine, and your medicine be your food.”
Hippocrates

My food in the last 24 hours of the Whole30 challenge:

  • Breakfast 11:00am: 4 fried eggs, papaya with a squeeze of fresh lime juice, avocado, cod liver oil
  • Lunch/Snack 3:00pm: frozen blueberries with coconut milk, dry roasted almonds herbal tea with coconut oil
  • Dinner 5:30pm: Valbella smokies, raw veggies with salsa – carrots, celery, cucumber, jicama, papaya with a squeeze of lime

Whole30 – Day 30 – FitDay Nutrition Log:


  1. June 21, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Glad you’re feeling well! I used to have a lot of sinus trouble, so if it ever pops up again, I’m going to try papaya!!!

    • June 21, 2010 at 4:52 pm

      Thanks Carla. I’m feeling much better.

  2. Raquel
    June 22, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Congrats on a successful finish to your challenge! Glad to hear you’re feeling better, too. Totally hear you on the carb craving when you’re feeling under the weather. If I’m coming down with something, all I want is a bucket of juice or some form of dairy (gasp). Papaya sounds like a much better — and effective — alternative.

    • June 23, 2010 at 8:46 am

      Thanks Raquel.

  3. Tracey
    June 26, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Hey Judy!
    I have a couple questions for you. 1st, do you know what the approx calorie count would be for grassfed breakfast sausage and sugar free grassfed suagr-free pork bacon? I can’t seem to find them to enter into Fitday. Also, have you noticed that adding more fruit int the diet leads to weight gain? I too have been playing around with my carb intake and seem to feel fruits don’t effect it much. Would love your thoughts!

    • June 26, 2010 at 10:28 am

      Sometimes it’s difficult to find certain items on FitDay – when that happens I just use the food that best matches. For the sugar-free pork bacon I would use regular bacon. If the packaging has the nutrition info you could “create a custom food”.
      Fruit doesn’t seem to contribute to weight gain or have other ill effects on me. However, junky carbs like breads, cereals, chips, etc make me feel lousy, especially if I over indulge. I seem to be able to cope OK with a burger, pizza or other treats once in a while. Experimentation is the key to finding what works best.

  4. Tracey
    June 27, 2010 at 6:25 am

    Thanks for the feedback Judy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

