Home > Primal, Random Stuff > The Top Ten Reasons I’m a Quasi-Primal Girl

The Top Ten Reasons I’m a Quasi-Primal Girl


I have to be the first to admit that the title of my blog is somewhat of an oxymoron. I’m not a pure in the true sense of the word pure. Let me rephrase that  – I’m not pure in relation to Primal Lifestyle pure.

I truly believe in the benefits of living Primally. I’ve lived it and experienced the benefits first hand but I have a confession to make, I don’t and won’t live it 100%, I’m not even sure I live it 80% I really have no idea how primal I am. Some days 100% and on the rare day, probably below 50%.

I know eating Primal is the best choice but I just can’t imagine giving up absolutely all non-primal foods and beverages, FOREVER.

That being said, I resemble a Primal Girl most of the time but there are the rare occasions when the Primal Girl in me, is possessed by some other unprimal being. I suppose what I am is a Quasi-Primal Girl (quasi – having some resemblance usually by possession of certain attributes).

My name is Judy and here are my top ten reasons I’m a Quasi-Primal Girl (and proud of it):

10. I love summer and I’m not afraid of soaking up some rays without being slathered in sunscreen. While I’m getting a good helping of Vitamin D, hopefully on an outdoor patio somewhere, I enjoy a brew or two (maybe three).

9. I limit the amount of fruit I eat, especially bananas. I’ve gone from one banana a day to fewer than one a week. However, when I make Banana Cream Pie for special occasions I have a piece or two and savour every bite without any guilt.

8. After a day of spring skiing in the fresh mountain air nothing compares to the taste of a grilled burger and a brew, enjoyed on the outdoor patio with family and friends. Perfect conclusion to a day of perfect spring skiing!

7. I love a night out at the movies – and, for me, buttered popcorn is a must. However, I have given up the licorice and I never drink pop.

6. I cannot pass on my son’s homemade chocolate chip or oatmeal raisin cookies. YUMMY! He has been in New Zealand for the past three months and I miss his cookies (and him).

5. Turkey without all the trimmings – stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy – just wouldn’t be the same. I go heavy on the turkey and lighter on the high carb stuff.

4. Celebrations are not the time to worry about counting carbs or calories and I don’t. I indulge without fear and that includes dessert.

3. Pizza night was a regular occurence in our house and it’s been a hard habit to break. The Primal versions of pizza (meatza, cauliflower crust, coconut flour crust) just don’t do it for me. I indulge in the real thing, every once in a while.

2. Vacations – relax, unwind, leave the world of commitments and schedules behind. For me that includes leaving behind worries over food, drink or exercise.

and the number one reason I’m a Quasi-Primal Girl…

1. I love that living primally has made me fit and lean enough that for the first time in my adult life I feel confident wearing a bikini – but, I want to be wearing that bikini while relaxing poolside, hopefully in Hawaii, with a tropical drink or beer in hand.

Let me know what you think – I’m Judy and I’m a guilt free Quasi-Primal Girl!

Categories: Primal, Random Stuff Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

